THE TRUE COST (OF LIVING)

Autumn is coming and, with it, the classic after-summer melancholy. I have been feeling strange in these past few days, and surprisingly I want to write about it, and more surprisingly, I am doing it in english, unlikely every other time that I just “stream-of-consciousness” here on my blog.
I have been feeling strange, liberated but somehow with a huge weight on my chest. I have been starting to declutter and to finally commit to minimalism. I am getting rid of everything that doesn’t make me happy or doesn’t serve a purpose, and so far it has been great. But somehow this journey is turning into a more soul-searching journey than I thought. It is not only about getting rid of things, but more importantly minimalism is about focusing on what really matters and becoming more conscious about things.
I have been documenting myself more, because I want to create good content for my brand new YouTube channel. But I shouldn’t be doing this only for this reason, I should do this and want to do this above all for myself. I have watched the documentary “The true cost”, which totally shocked me. It’s not something I wasn’t aware of, we sadly all know more or less how the fashion industry works. But the brutality of the footage and the overwhelming amount of informations blew my mind. I immediately went to my downsized closet, and realized that between some thrifted items, a big part of the other items are fast fashion ones. Purchased of course in a diluted amount of time, but still. Unfair working conditions, poor quality of the items, big impact on the environment. Although I have never been a shopaholic, during these years I kept increasing this cycle by continuing to purchase from fast fashion brands without thinking that I could have made a difference. Maybe small, but still a difference. Luckily for me I have fallen in love with thrifting a few years ago, and started to make some sustainable, second hand purchases as well. But I can’t help myself with thinking: what if I encouraged the fast fashion cycle less? Should I feel guilty because I have some sweatshop items in my closet, and I like them? Should I get rid of those all? I don’t think so, I would create even more textile waste all at once. Which brings me to the next point: environment.
I have always considered myself somebody who was actually paying attention to environment: trying to separate my waste, using only natural cleaning and body care products since 2 years, switching all the electronics off when not needed and stuff like that, to realize that, well, I am so far from being the eco friendly person that I would like to be. I am so absorbed in my everyday life, that I don’t even notice how much packagings I purchase, how much plastic or general waste I create everyday, how irresponsible I am when I don’t properly read ingredients lists on tags, how lazy I am becoming on that side.
Now I feel guilty every time I take something take-away with disposable containers. Now I feel guilty every time I forget my water bottle (again, made of stupid plastic) at home and I have to buy some water. Now I feel guilty when I wear those unethical clothes that I liked, still like and took good care of so I could still enjoy and wear them. I feel guilty when I forget to read the tags of the garment to know where was it made and what is it made of. I feel guilty when I go to buy some food and I forget to bring a reusable bag and have to take new bags to bring the items home.
But being minimalist is not at all about this. Being a minimalist means being a better person, taking care of what you already have and trying to focus on what really matters to become a better you. I can’t spend my time feeling guilty about mistakes that I have done and sometimes, stupidly, I still do. But I can for sure make some drastic changes in my habits and, from now on, being way more conscious about my everyday actions.
This is what minimalism means to me. And I want to get to point where I’ll be that person that I would like to be… and trust me, I will.

3 thoughts on “THE TRUE COST (OF LIVING)

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours lately, yet I by no means discovered
    any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content as you did, the internet shall be a lot more useful than ever
    before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

