MOVING + DECLUTTERING

It’s been already 1 year of life in Tallinn. Strange how after exactly 1 year I find myself moving out of Tallinn.

In this video I explain a bit more about it, but this is not the purpose of this post.

I have always considered moving as a totally stressful thing, so much to pack and to take care of.

I have never considered instead as an amazing opportunity, an occasion for decluttering and finally getting rid of unwanted stuff that for some reason we are holding onto. Because, nobody wants to waste time in packing and moving stuff that is not needed or liked, right?

Ok, for me it’s easier. I don’t have kids yet, and the place I currently live in was completely furnished and equipped when I moved in, only some supplies where missing (and I bought them).

But still, so far it has been surprisingly easy to stay organized with the moving. Partly because, as a “minimalist” (I don’t consider myself a pro, that’s why I use quotation marks) I have already downsized my belonging, partly because I learned how to do it efficiently along the way, and I immediately took the occasion of moving as a chance to declutter what is not for me absolutely essential.


Some items were already selected during these past few weeks (I wanted to get rid of them regardless if I was moving or not, but still it counts as a decluttering), and some where selected in these days, as I am approaching myself to move from Estonia to Germany.

Here’s the list of what I am getting rid of (items will be sold at the local flea market this Saturday or donated):

  • 1 ceramic sauce pan
  • 1 small blender kit (motor part+cutting part+2 jars+2lids for the jars)
  • 1 hairdrier
  • 1 small table mirror
  • 3 never read or even opened magazines (that I was still keeping with the intention of reading… had them since 6 months)
  • 10 (almost new) colored fineliner pens
  • 1 ceramic tumbler
  • 1 small ceramic cup
  • 1 food container
  • 2 bags (1 cotton tote, 1 handbag)
  • 1 purse organizer
  • 1 toiletry bag
  • 2 longsleeve tops
  • 1 pair of jeggins
  • 1 vest
  • 3 oversized sweaters
  • 1 maxi skirt
  • 2 scarves (1 infinity, 1 blanket)
  • 1 parka coat
  • 1 “formal” top
  • 1 carry on suitcase
  • 1 cellphone holder to wear at the arm when doing workout (I used to use this, but since I have a different phone now, it doesn’t fit anymore).

This makes a total of 38 items. 38 less things that won’t bother me anymore, 38 less things to think about, 38 less things to fit into my luggage or parcel, 38 less things to store once I am in the new place.

And I’ve always thought that moving was a bad thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

