HOW MINIMALISM MADE ME A CONSCIOUS CONSUMER…AND HOW IT MADE ME “MEET” THE MAN WHO MADE MY SHIRT

It has been more or less 6 months since I decided to quit fast fashion industry. But before that decision even came, there was something that happened in my life that definitely left a footprint and made me change completely, giving me so much more space energy and interest for what really matters. And that something is called Minimalism. The decision of downsizing my life to what I consider my essentials, things I like and need around me while getting rid of the unwanted, unnecessary, unliked, “I’ll keep it just in case”. I felt like this was the perfect opportunity to start focusing on everything my mind was craving, everything that is interesting and meaningful but somehow was hidden behind piles of clutter.

Simplifying your life means not only decluttering, but also keeping track and control of the new items coming into your space/life. Therefore the change of my spending habits, the awareness of becoming a conscious consumer and also the gradually increasing need of being informed.

I don’t only mean making monthly budgets and shopping lists, but more importantly I mean documenting myself and getting somehow involved in CONSCIOUS CONSUMERISM. I wanted to be much more responsible, because I wanted to make sure that, after becoming a minimalist, every time I was adding something to my life, it was going to be something well made, sustainable and of high quality, that could last me ages.

“BUY LESS, CHOOSE WELL MAKE IT LAST”. Vivienne Westwood

This quote is not random, especially considering that I started this approach with clothes, the things that I used to buy more as an impulse buy.

I’ve started informing myself more, asking myself questions, to the point where I decided that I couldn’t support anymore an industry that is unfair, unethical, unsustainable and promotes waste and mass consumption. Therefore the decision of quitting fast fashion and buying clothes only #secondhand or from ethical, sustainable brands.

I decided to take part in Fashion Revolution Week this year, to try to get more people involved and make them wonder where their clothes come from, who made them and how were they made.

I made a video on my Youtube channel trying to encourage people to buy more second hand, because it is the most sustainable form of shopping.

But more importantly, I shared a few pictures on my Instagram account showing the labels of my clothes and asking them the question #whomademyclothes .

I posted this picture with my beloved ethically and sustainably made shirt from Armed Angels, asking the brand who made my shirt.

And the answer I got from the brand was amazing.

This is Hasan. He made my shirt.

After so many years of purchasing crappy fast fashion, it was incredibly moving for me to see the real face behind that piece of clothing that I enjoy wearing so much. Now that simple garment has such a special value, and I’m proud to wear it and to know that, even if in a small way, I am trying my best to make a difference.

Nowadays, people tend to think of clothing as a disposable item, forgetting that there is a person behind it. A person that is working in a barely decent, unsafe environment for 15 or more hours a day for almost no money.

The aim of Fashion Revolution is to bring awareness around the fashion industry and the damages that it is causing in terms of pollution, waste, exploit of workers.

That’s why the more I go on with my minimalist journey the more I am glad I chose this lifestyle: because it’s not the final goal that counts, it’s the whole journey that matters. The need of focusing on what’s important, changing and growing up as a person, evolving, living in a simple but more intentional, slow and focused way.

Thank you Hasan for making my shirt.

 

4 thoughts on “HOW MINIMALISM MADE ME A CONSCIOUS CONSUMER…AND HOW IT MADE ME “MEET” THE MAN WHO MADE MY SHIRT

      1. You’re So Welcome 🙂 I appreciate you sharing it. I really enjoyed it 🙂 I even tweeted it with your hashtag #whomademyshirt 🙂 even got a couple of likes on it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

